Airfield Operations Wins Multiple Awards

  • Published
  • By Staff Sgt. Michael Hunsaker
  • 434th Air Refueling Wing

The 434th Operations Support Squadron airfield operations won multiple awards for their exemplary work throughout the year keeping Grissom’s airfield running smoothly.

This is not the first year the airfield operations team has won multiple awards for their efforts. The operations team won awards in nine categories this year.

Lt. Col David Curl, 434th Operations Support Group commander, share his thoughts on what made Grissom’s Air Traffic Control team successful.

“The cohesiveness of the entire organization,” said Curl. “This group of professionals truly work together to overcome many different challenges and excel as individuals, as an entire team.”

Leading the team is Robert Moore, 434th Operations Support Squadron airfield operations manager, whose performance and professionalism earned him Air Force Reserve Commands’ Col. Derrel Dempsey Airfield Officer of the Year award this year.

“I am incredibly proud of all the work they accomplished, said Moore. “This year we had many individual awards, group awards and we had the distinct honor being recognized as AFRCs Airfield Operations Flight of the Year Award.”

Moore continued to praise his team and their work. He included the award he was most proud of in his team’s recognition.

“The greatest award we were recognized for was the Airfield Operations Award,” said Moore. “This award takes into account all of the work centers within the flight and their achievements throughout the year to support the airfield and its operations.  We have incredible people doing great things for this flight and this wing. They are well deserving of this award.”  

The AFRC awards won by Grissom’s airfield operations team for 2022 were:

Airfield Management Civilian Manager of the Year – Joel Jordan

Airfield Management Civilian Technician of the Year – Robert Lussier

Civilian Air Traffic Controller in Charge of the Year – Kevin Ware

D. Ray Harden Air Traffic Control Complex of the Year

Airfield Operations Flight of the Year

Lima Site 85 Team of the Year

RAWS Manager of the Year – Jerry Pace Jr.

RAWS Technician of the Year – Michael Bowsher

Col. Derrel Dempsey Airfield Officer of the Year – Robert Moore

The 434th ARW is the largest KC-135R Stratotanker unit in the Air Force Reserve Command. The Citizen Airmen from the Hoosier Wing routinely deploy around the world in support of the Air Force mission.

Stay connected with the 434th ARW on Facebook and Twitter.