GCC elects new officers

  • Published
  • By Tech Sgt. Josh Weaver
  • 434th Air Refuelign Wing

The Grissom Community Council held their annual meeting Feb. 4, 2020 in Kokomo, Ind., and elected new officers for the year.

The council is a civilian non-profit organization whose goal is to support the men and women at Grissom.

“We have a long and positive history with the GCC,” said Doug Hays, 434th Air Refueling Wing chief of public affairs.

During the meeting, GCC members were given a ‘state of the base’ address by Col. Thom Pemberton, 434th ARW commander, as well as entertainment from area musicians.

“It was a great night that continues to show the great working relationship we have together,” Hays added.

While entertaining and educational at times, the main purpose of the gathering was to elect officers and directors.

The new officers are:
President – Jim Price
Vice President – Jim Alwine
Secretary – Barbara Taylor
Treasurer – Wes Marion.

Area directors are:
Region 1, Howard County -- Roy Phipps
Region 2, Miami County -- Jim Yates
Region 3, Cass County -- Stacy Donato
Region 4, Wabash County -- Harry Kilmer

Committee chairs are:
Membership -- Dave Shearer
Social -- Joan Lake
Advisory -- Grover Bishop
By-lays -- Brian Wright
GCC Newsletter ‘The Hoosier Herald’ -- Frank Faulkner

The 434th ARW is the largest KC-135R Stratotanker unit in the Air Force Reserve Command. The Citizen Airmen from the Hoosier Wing routinely deploy around the world in support of the Air Force mission.

Stay connected with the 434th ARW on Facebook and Twitter.